Women of Achievement

Accepting Nominations!

We are now accepting nominations for the 2018 Women of Achievement (WOA) award.

WOA empowers women by honoring leaders who work, live and/or impact lives in Saline County who have made important contributions through volunteer and/or professional activities in the following categories:

  • Arts and/or Culture
  • Education
  • Emerging Leader
  • Personal Growth
  • Service to Community
  • Workplace

A more detailed description of the nomination categories can be found here.

Nominations are due August 27th, 2018 and must be submitted online.

How to Nominate:  Link to nomination form coming soon!


In 2016, five women were recognized for their achievements and for also living their life in a way that embodies the mission of the former YWCA of Salina: to strive to create opportunities for women’s growth, leadership and power, and assists in the physical and mental health and well-being of women and their families. The 2018 event is going to recognize more outstanding women in the Salina area for their accomplishments.

Those honored in 2016 include:

  • Millie Bates-Moye, a retired teacher
  • Vicki Price, CAPS education director
  • Debbie Rivers, Salina Shares exeuctive director
  • Brenda Stoss, Salina Municipal Court judge
  • Martha Tasker, City of Salina utilities director

For the first time, Women of Achievement also recognized a local organization, Women Helping Women, which offers financial grants or a helping hand to women in a crisis situation.

More information can be found here: Five Salina women honored at Women of Achievement luncheon


Women of Achievement was first introduced by the former YWCA of Salina in 1993 to recognize the work of outstanding women in our community. Following the closure of the YWCA in 2004, the program was sponsored by Girl Scouts of Kansas Heartland. This bi-annual event has honored 93 Women of Achievement, 4 Young Women of Achievement and 4 Lifetime Achievement recipients, all who have made outstanding contributions in a variety of fields.

Women of Achievement has now found its home at the YW Legacy Fund at the Greater Salina Community Foundation. Any proceeds from the Women of Achievement recognition event will be added to this fund and continue to make grants to individuals and organizations that support women, children and the eradication of racism.

YW Legacy Fund Grants

Grants from the YW Legacy Fund support a variety of causes close to the mission of the former YWCA. In the past, funds have been used to help fund the Salina Juneteenth Celebration, provide seed money to start new temporary foster care collaboration for children in police protective custody, and help girls from under-served and at-risk populations participate in Girls Scouts community based programs. More information about the YW Legacy Fund can be found here.


Women of Achievement Award Honorees

2016 Honorees

Millie Bates-Moye
Vickie Price
Debbie Rivers
Brenda Stoss
Martha Tasker
Women Helping Women

2013 Honorees

Rose Base
Pauline Eaton
Dr. Elaine Ferguson
Lindsey Henderson Lonergan
Korey Hensley
Terry Hoyt Evans
Joan Jackson
Carolee Jones
Frieda Mai Weis
Thea Nietfeld
Maria Rapp
Savannah Sherwood
Peggy Simms
Sister Evangeline Thomas

Full List of Past Recipients